Match 2 Report of PBKS vs KKR | IPL 2023


Punjab Kings (PBKS) kicked off their IPL 2023 campaign in style as they beat Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) by 7 runs on the Duckworth Lewis method (DLS) at PCA Stadium in Mohali. 

PBKS vs KKR Match Toss Details

KKR had won the toss and opted to field first but the decision backfired as Bhanuka Rajapaksa and PBKS skipper Shikhar Dhawan shared an 86-run stand for the second wicket. This helped them post a stiff 191/5 on board.

Match Proceedings of Punjab Kings vs Kolkata Knight Riders

In reply, KKR kept on losing wickets, and cameos from Venkatesh Iyer, skipper Nitish Rana, and Andre Russell proved insufficient, handing PBKS a close win.

After losing Prabhsimran Singh early, PBKS was guided by Rajapaksa and Dhawan. While Dhawan played the perfect second fiddle, scoring 40 off 29, Rajapaksa (50 off 32 balls) went on a rampage, launching Sunil Narine in his very first over for 4,4, and 6. He continued his attack against the pace of Shardul Thakur as well and reached his fifty in no time. However, he was soon dismissed when he was caught expertly by Rinku Singh in the deep. Soon after Dhawan also departed and PBKS started to lose timely wickets. However, the aggressive style of play ensured that PBKS finished off at 191/5.

In reply, KKR lost both their openers early with Mandeep Singh (2 off 4 balls) and Anukul Roy (4 off 5 balls) both falling to Arshdeep Singh’s pace. Rahmanullah Gurbaz(22 off 16) did counter-attack but saw his stumps flying in the process. KKR was reduced to 29/3 in the opening powerplay.

From here on new skipper Nitish Rana (24 off 17) and Venkatesh Iyer(34 off 28) held fort and rescued KKR’s sinking ship with 46 run stand. But Sikandar Raza managed to get his team the breakthrough with the wicket of Rana. Andre Russell (35 off 19) did his best with his fighting knock, but the run rate was increasing with every ball. 


Meanwhile, Iyer kept up the pressure from the other end before perishing to Singh before rain intervened.

The rain did not relent and PBKS were named winners through DLS method. Singh was named Man of the Match for 3/19.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *