T20 World Cup 2024: 9 Players Retired from T20I Cricket

9 Players Retired from T20I Cricket

The T20 World Cup 2024 was exceptional for several different reasons. The International Cricket Council (ICC) event featured the participation of twenty teams for the very first time together, the United States of America hosted its very first ICC event, matches were played on drop-in pitches, and bowlers dominated the format, which is generally known to favour bowlers rather than batsmen.

Players who retired after T20 World Cup 2024 

Several legends hung up their boots and retired from T20 International cricket during the T20 World Cup 2024. It was only after the final that three of India’s most legendary players decided to retire from T20 internationals.

Virat Kohli – India

As soon as he was presented with the Player of the Match trophy for scoring 76 runs off of 59 runs in the final, the former captain of India announced that he would be retiring from T20 Internationals. After playing 125 T20 International matches, Virat Kohli scored 4188 runs, which is the second-most in the history of the game.

Rohit Sharma – India

As a result of India’s victory over South Africa in Barbados by seven runs, the captain of India finally realised his decades-long dream of winning the championship. After the victory, Rohit Sharma announced his retirement from T20 International cricket, joining Virat Kohli in making the announcement. He participated in 159 matches and scored 4231 runs, which is the leading total in the game’s history.

Ravindra Jadeja – India

Just one day after India’s victory, the star all-rounder announced his retirement from the format, ending India’s 13-year wait for an ICC World Cup. During his 74 T20 Internationals, Jadeja amassed 515 runs and took 54 wickets.

David Warner – Australia 

An announcement had been made by the Australian opener that he would be retiring following the T20 World Cup in 2024. Unfortunately, he did not have a fairytale ending to his career because Australia did not make it to the semi-finals of the competition. The seventh-highest total at the time of Warner’s retirement was 3277 runs, which he scored in 110 T20 Internationals.  

Trent Boult – New Zealand

In the T20 World Cup 2024, the star left-arm pacer played his final T20 International match for New Zealand, which was against Papua New Guinea. At the end of his T20 International career, Boult had taken 83 wickets in 61 matches. As part of the T20 World Cup 2024, he took nine wickets across four matches, which was the most of any player on his team.

Mahmudullah – Bangladesh

After the conclusion of the T20 World Cup in 2024, Mahmudullah, a veteran cricketer from Bangladesh, has announced that he will retire from playing international cricket. Within the course of the tournament, the all-rounder, who is 38 years old, scored 95 runs for Bangladesh across seven matches. Throughout 138 T20 Internationals, he scored a total of 2394 runs. Furthermore, he was able to take 40 wickets with his off-spin bowling.

David Wiese – Namibia

Having suffered a defeat at the hands of England in their final group-stage match, the legendary player from Namibia decided to retire from international cricket. For a total of 624 runs and 59 wickets, Wiese participated in 54 T20 Internationals.  

Sybrand Engelbrecht – Netherlands

Following the conclusion of his team’s final league match against Sri Lanka, Sybrand Engelbrecht, a veteran of the Netherlands cricket team, also announced his retirement from international participation. The international cricketer, who was born in South Africa and is now 35 years old, participated in 12 T20 Internationals and scored 280 runs with a strike rate of 132.7 and an average of 31.11.  

Brian Masaba – Uganda

After his team’s performance in the T20 World Cup 2024, Brian Masaba also made the unexpected announcement that he would be retiring from T20 International cricket. With a total of 61 T20 Internationals played, the 32-year-old player scored 437 runs and took 23 wickets.

Overall, Indian cricket fans are saddened by the fact that legendary cricketers Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, and Ravindra Jadeja will not be able to play for the Indian T20 team again. On the other hand, they are pleased that India won the T20 World Cup 2024.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *