India’s T20 World Cup team will reunite with Shami, Siraj, and Thakur in Australia.

Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, and Deepak Chahar—three of the primary reserve players—are not planning to travel.

The triumvirate of Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, and Shardul Thakur is flying out on Thursday to join the Indian delegation in Australia for the men’s T20 World Cup, however the BCCI has not yet named a substitute for the injured Jasprit Bumrah. Which of them will eventually join the main team is unknown.

The three reserve players, Deepak Chahar, Ravi Bishnoi, and Shreyas Iyer, are not currently on the road. Due to a back ailment, Chahar was unable to participate in the just concluded ODI series against South Africa.

The core team arrived in Australia on October 6 and has been headquartered in Perth. During this time, the players have participated in a weeklong training camp and one scrimmage versus a Western Australia XI. On October 13, they will play their next practice match.

Bumrah’s stress reaction during the T20I portion of the white-ball series against South Africa dealt India a devastating blow. At that time, Shami and Chahar were both vying for the position of replacement, but Chahar’s injury placed Shami the front-runner to succeed Bumrah. The ultimate choice will probably be made after determining Shami’s fitness.

Since the 2021 T20 World Cup concluded in November of last year, Shami hasn’t participated in a T20I match. He has been working out at the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru after being diagnosed with Covid-19, which prevented him from playing in the home series against Australia and South Africa. When India visited England in July, he last participated in a competitive game of cricket.

India is scheduled to depart for Brisbane, where they will play two official World Cup warm-up matches against Australia and New Zealand on October 17 and 19, respectively, after the practice match in Perth on Thursday. The team will then go to Melbourne before their opening-round match against Pakistan on October 23. India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, South Africa, and two first-round qualifiers are all members of Super 12 Group 2.

The following players make up India’s T20 World Cup roster: Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Ptel, Arshdeep Singh.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *