ICC Awards 2022: Complete List of Winners

ICC Awards 2022

ICC awards 2022 recognizes the top performers in both men’s and women’s cricket in the year gone by. Babar Azam emerged as the big winner in the men’s category as the Pakistan skipper won the International Cricket Council (ICC) Men’s Cricketer of the Year award and the ODI Cricketer of the Year honor. England’s Nat Sciver, too, grabbed the spotlight after being chosen the ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year and the best player in the 50-over format.

ICC Awards 2022 – Men’s Category

Suryakumar Yadav, Babar Azam, and Ben Stokes won the player of the year award in men’s T20I, ODI, and Test formats, respectively. The Indian batter had an exceptional campaign in the shortest form of the game. Popularly known as SKY, the 32-year-old was a nightmare for bowlers in 2022. He was the only player to go past 1000 runs last year and had a phenomenal strike rate of 187. 

Babar was the most consistent batter in ODIs in 2022 and won the ICC Men’s ODI Cricket of the Year award. The technically gifted batter hit three centuries and five half-centuries in nine innings. Under his captaincy, Pakistan suffered only one defeat in 2022. The 114 against Australia in Lahore was one of the most memorable knocks as Babar helped his side chase down 349 with just six balls to spare.

Stokes, the winner of ICC Test player of the year, has played an integral role in helping reverse England’s fortunes in Test cricket. After being appointed as England captain in April 2022, Stoke guided England to victories over New Zealand, South Africa, India, and Pakistan. He scored over 800 runs and clinched 26 wickets in red-ball cricket in 2022.

Men’s ICC Player of the Year

Babar Azam won the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Men’s Player of the Year. He was exceptional with the bat across all three formats. Though Pakistan lost the Test series against Australia and England at home in 2022, Babar racked up runs.

With 1184 runs, the 28-year-old topped the runs chart in Test cricket. Babar was also a pivotal figure for his side in the T20I format.

Babar Azam Overall Stats in 2022

Innings: 52, Runs: 2598, Highest score: 196, 50s/100s: 17/8

Men’s ICC Team of the Year

Jos Buttler, Ben Stokes, and Babar Azam were picked as the skippers of the ICC T20I, Test, and ODI teams of the year, respectively. The wicketkeeper-batter helped England lift its second World T20 title after its victory over Pakistan in the T20 World Cup 2022 final. Joe Root, the winner of the men’s Test cricket of the year in 2021, didn’t make it to the squad this time.

ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Year

Jos Buttler (captain), Mohammad Rizwan, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Glenn Philipps, Hardik Pandya, Sikandar Raza, Wanindu Hasaranga, Sam Curran, Joshua Little, Haris Rauf.

ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year

Babar Azam (captain), Tom Latham, Shai Hope, Travis Head, Shreyas Iyer, Sikandar Raza, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Alzarri Joseph, Trent Boult, Mohammed Siraj, Adam Zampa

ICC Men’s Test Team of the Year

Ben Stokes (captain), Kraigg Brathwaite, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Jonny Bairstow, Babar Azam, Rishabh Pant, Kagiso Rabada, Pat Cummins, Nathan Lyon, James Anderson

ICC Awards – Women’s Category

All-rounder Tahila McGrath made her Women’s T20I debut in October 2021 and had a stellar year with bat and ball. The Adelaide-born cricketer, who won the Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year award, scored 435 runs at an average of 62.14 and took 13 wickets. She scored an unbeaten 91 and a three-wicket haul against England in the opening women’s Ashes T20I at Adelaide Oval.

England’s Nat Sciver won the prestigious Women’s ODI cricketer of the Year award. The 30-year-old’s fighting 148* in the 2022 World Cup final against Australia was one of the greatest knocks in the women’s big event. She ended 2022 with 833 runs at an average of 59.

Women’s ICC Player of the Year

Nat Sciver was voted the ICC Women’s Player of the Year. She fought off competition from Smriti Mandhana, Amelia Kerr, and Beth Mooney to receive the Rachael Heyhoe Flint trophy. Sciver’s exploits weren’t limited to ODIs, as she scored 169* against South Africa in a Test match in Taunton. She also clinched a handful of wickets in both white-ball formats.

Women’s ICC Team of the Year

Sophie Devine and Harmanpreet Kaur were chosen as the captains of the women’s T20I and ODI teams of the year. Smriti Mandhana, Sophie Ecclestone, and Renuka Singh feature in both squads. Four Indian players have made it to the women’s T20I team of the year 2022.

ICC Women’s T20I Team of the Year

Sophie Devine (captain), Smriti Mandhana, Beth Mooney, Ash Gardner, Tahila McGrath, Nida Dar, Deepti Sharma, Richa Ghosh, Renuka Singh, Sophie Ecclestone, Inoka Ranaweera

ICC Women’s ODI Team of the Year

Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Alyssa Healy, Smriti Mandhana, Laura Wolvaardt, Nat Sciver, Beth Mooney, Amelia Kerr, Sophie Ecclestone, Ayabonga Khaka, Trent Boult, Renuka Singh, Shabnam Ismail

ICC Awards 2022 – Marco Jansen, Renuka Singh, Richard Illingworth

South Africa pacer Marco Jansen and India speedster Renuka Singh won the Emerging Cricketer of the Year awards in men’s and women’s categories. On the other hand, UAE’s Esha Oza received the Women’s Associate Cricket of the Year award. In the men’s category, Gerhard Erasmus won the honor.

Richard Illingworth was ICC’s 2022 Umpire of the Year. The 59-year-old, who stood as an on-field umpire in 24 international matches in 2022, won the David Shepherd trophy in 2019. Nepal wicketkeeper Aasif Sheikh got the ICC Spirit of Cricket award. He received the honor for his decision not to run out Andy McBrine after the Ireland batter slipped trying to attempt a run. 

It is a momentous achievement to win international cricket’s most prominent individual awards. The players hope to continue their impressive run and be among the nominees for the next season. Get all the latest cricket updates on the Yolo247 Cricket news

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *