Full List of SRH Overseas Players in IPL 2024

srh overseas players

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) won their maiden Indian Premier League (IPL) trophy in 2016. It was the second such trophy for a Hyderabad-based franchise, as the now-defunct Deccan Chargers won the IPL title in the 2009 season. While SRH won the trophy in 2016, they reached the final in 2018. However, they have disappointed since the 2020 season, finishing eighth in 2021 and 2022, respectively. In 2023, they won just four games out of 14 and finished last. 

Can they finish in the top four in IPL 2024? They have picked some of the biggest overseas in the auction. This blog will look at the eight overseas players at SRH in the 2024 season.

Comprehensive List of SRH Players in IPL 2024

After last year’s poor campaign, SRH released some of the biggest overseas names. They picked up prominent overseas names – Pat Cummins, Travis Head, and Wanindu Hasaranga – to compensate for this. Here’s the complete list of SRH’s overseas players in IPL 2024:

  1. Aiden Markram
  2. Pat Cummins
  3. Wanindu Hasaranga
  4. Marco Jansen
  5. Heinrich Klassen
  6. Glenn Phillips
  7. Fazalhaq Farooqi
  8. Travis Head

Aiden Markram: 

Aiden Markram was named SRH skipper last season and did whatever he could do. He scored 248 runs with the bat but couldn’t inspire the team on the field. However, unlike some of the biggest names, he wasn’t let go. The South African was retained, and the SRH fans will want him to go all guns blazing in the new season.  

Pat Cummins: 

Australia captain Pat Cummins was on everybody’s wishlist. That’s why he set up a bidding war, and by the time it all ended, he had become the most expensive player in IPL history. However, he was surpassed by his good friend Micthell Starc within an hour. An effective medium pacer, Cummins can also bat in the lower-middle order. One instance is his knock against the Mumbai Indians in 2022, where he slammed 56 off just 15. At ₹20.5 crore, the SRH captain will have to deliver on all fronts.

Wanindu Hasaranga: 

Wanindu Hasaranga has a proven track record in the shortest format of the game. He was a surprise release from the RCB squad as the Lankan all-rounder picked up 35 wickets in the last two seasons. The unorthodox spinner, bought for ₹1.5 crore, is expected to play a vital role alongside Washington Sundar.

Marco Jansen:

After being retained for ₹4.2 crore, Marco Jansen will likely play a permanent role in the squad in the new season. Jansen made his SRH debut in the 2021 season. In the 2022 edition, he picked up seven wickets. Also, a decent hitter, Jansen upped his game in 2023, where he picked up ten wickets in eight outings.

Heinrich Klaasen: 

The front-line wicketkeeper from South Africa, Heinrich Klaasen, had to wait to make it big in the IPL. His breakthrough season came in 2023 when he was given a longer run at SRH. He became the key in the middle order and scored 448 runs at an impressive average of 49, with a strike rate of 177. 

Glenn Phillips: 

Glenn Phillips, the Kiwi finisher, featured for SRH last season. After missing out on the 2022 season, Phillips made an impact lower down the order the following year. His seven-ball 25 against Rajasthan Royals proved his worth in the squad and showcased his match-winning abilities. Despite being inconsistent, Phillips will likely get a few matches in the 2024 season. 

Fazalhaq Farooqi: 

Fazalhaq Farooqi joined SRH in the IPL 2022 season after the franchise secured his services for ₹50 lakhs. The Afghanistan pacer, CSK’s net bowler in the IPL 2021 season, will add to the SRH bowling line-up as a backup. Farooqi has six wickets in seven matches. He has an excellent back-of-the-hand slow ball, which can trouble batters.

Travis Head: 

The Man of the Match in the World Test Championship and ODI World Cup finals, Travis Head, can quickly take the game away if he gets his eye in. Head, who made his IPL debut in 2016, scored 205 runs in ten IPL matches. But he is now at the peak of his career and is expected to account for his best-ever tally in the upcoming season. A lot is riding on the 30-year-old.

FAQs about SRH Overseas Players in IPL 2024

1.Who are the SRH overseas players for 2024?

Aiden Markram, Pat Cummins, Wanindu Hasaranga, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klassen, Glenn Phillips, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Travis Head and are SRH’s overseas players in the IPL 2024 season.

2.Who was SRH’s most expensive overseas player in the IPL 2024 auction?

Australia’s Pat Cummins, who received ₹20.5 crore, is the most expensive overseas player at SRH.

3.Who is the most popular overseas player in the SRH squad?

Pat Cummins is the most popular overseas player in the SRH squad. 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *