IPL 2023 KKR | Top Buys & Full Squad

IPL 2023 KKR

IPL 2023 KKR team is no pushover. The two-time winners boast some of the best overseas players and a captain capable of winning games on his own. Though the Kolkata-based franchise had little to spend in the auction, they snapped up three quality overseas players. Let’s take a look at players bought by KKR. 

IPL 2023 KKR – New Arrivals

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) released 14 players a few weeks before the Indian Premier League (IPL) auction. The list included well-known names like Aaron Finch, Alex Hales, Pat Cummins, Sam Billings, Ajinkya Rahane, etc. 

Bangladesh’s Shakib Al Hasan and Litton Das will don the KKR jersey in the 2023 season. Shakib returns to the franchise, where he made his IPL debut in 2011. Meanwhile, Litton is a first-timer in the world’s biggest T20 cricket tournament. Namibia international David Wiese, another KKR buy, played for Royal Challengers Bangalore in IPL 2015 and 2016. 

KKR has roped in experienced domestic players. Opening batsman Mandeep Singh has racked up more than 1600 runs in IPL, and uncapped Vaibhav Arora and Narayan Jagadeesan played a few matches last season.

KKR IPL 2023 – Expensive Buys

KKR had the smallest cash purse remaining in the IPL 2023 auction – Rs 7.05 crore. They paid Rs 1.5 crore to Bangladesh captain Shakib Al Hasan, making him their biggest purchase in the auction. Shakib brings a wealth of experience and ticks all the boxes for KKR. 

David Wiese was the franchise’s second-most expensive signing. The 37-year-old, bought for Rs 1 crore, is a T20 journeyman who played franchise tournaments in England, West Indies, Pakistan, South Africa, etc. With over 300 T20 appearances, Wiese is a valuable addition to the KKR roster. 

Tamil Nadu wicketkeeper batter Narayan Jagadeesan is the third most expensive buy in the auction with Rs 90 lakh. Jagadeesan holds the record for the highest individual score and most successive hundreds in List A cricket.

IPL 2023 KKR Auction Players 



Shakib Al Hasan

₹1.5 cr

David Wiese

₹ 1 cr

Narayan Jagadeesan

₹90 lakh

Vaibhav Arora

₹60 lakh

Mandeep Singh

₹50 lakh

Litton Das

₹50 lakh

Kulwant Khejroliya

₹20 lakh

Suyash Sharma

₹20 lakh

IPL Auction Kolkata Knight Riders – Can Mandeep Singh revive his fortunes?
Mandeep Singh, who made his IPL debut in KKR colors in 2010, hasn’t had the best IPL campaigns since the 2018 season. He lacked consistency and made only three appearances for Delhi Capitals last season, scoring just 18 runs. The 31-year-old will be keen to rediscover the form of the IPL 2012 season, where he finished as Kings XI Punjab’s top run-scorer with 432 runs at a strike rate of 126. 

IPL 2023 KKR Players List

Kolkata Knight Riders will rely heavily on a highly-experienced overseas unit and captain, Shreyas Iyer. Rinku Singh is another player to watch in the KKR squad. The uncapped batter played a string of impressive knocks in the 2022 season. Nitish Rana, Venkatesh Iyer, and Shardul Thakur, traded from Delhi Capitals for Aman Khan, are a few other key players in the KKR squad.
The full IPL 2023 KKR players list is below:  

Indian players – Shreyas Iyer (captain), Venkatesh Iyer, Varun Chakravarthy, Vaibhav Arora, Umesh Yadav, Suyash Sharma, Shardul Thakur, Rinku Singh, Nitish Rana, Narayan Jagadeesan, Mandeep Singh, Kulwant Khejroliya, Harshit Rana, Anukul Roy

Overseas players – Tim Southee, Sunil Narine, Shakib Al Hasan, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Lockie Ferguson, Litton Das, David Wiese, Andre Russell

KKR Playing XI (probable) – Venkatesh Iyer, Narayan Jagadeesan, Nitish Rana, Shreyas Iyer, Shakib Al Hasan, Rinku Singh, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Umesh Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Lockie Ferguson
KKR IPL 2023 Team – Facts & Stats
Oldest player: David Wiese (37 years)
Youngest player: Suyash Sharma (19 years)
Most IPL appearances: Sunil Narine (148 matches)
Most IPL runs: Shreyas Iyer (2776 runs)
Most IPL wickets: Sunil Narine (152 wickets)
Kolkata Knight Riders haven’t won the IPL since 2014. They have a quality side at their disposal this time around. Will the KKR fans be able to end a long wait for a trophy?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *