India vs Australia ODI Series | Schedule, Squads, Venues

India vs Australia ODI

India vs Australia ODI is going to be a cracker of a series. The two cricket powerhouses will be keen to build momentum ahead of the World Cup, which will be held in India from October 2023. Australia, in March 2019, was the last team to win an ODI series against the ‘Men in Blue’ at home.

India vs Australia ODI Series – Schedule

India will play three ODI against Australia on home soil. It begins immediately after the four-match Test series. The opening ODI is on March 17, the second game will take place two days later, and the series will conclude on the 22nd. Mumbai, Vizag, and Chennai are the venues for the three ODIs.

In the recent meeting between both teams, Australia sealed a 2-1 series win over India down under in 2020. Steve Smith hit two centuries, while Hardik Pandya and Virat Kohli made crucial contributions with the bat for India. Adam Zampa and Josh Hazlewood took 13 wickets between them in the series.

India clinched a thrilling win against Australia when both last met in an ODI series at the sub-continent. The visitors clinched a thumping ten-wicket win over India in the first ODI. But the then Virat Kohli-led side grabbed successive wins over Australia. With 229 runs, Steve Smith emerged as the top run scorer, while Mohammed Shami took seven wickets in three outings.

India vs Australia ODI Series Schedule 





Mar 17

1st ODI

Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

2:00 PM

Mar 19

2nd ODI

ACA-VDCA Stadium, Visakhapatnam

2:00 PM

Mar 22

3rd ODI

Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai

2:00 PM


The ‘Men in Blue’ have a settled batting order. Shubman Gill and Rohit Sharma, one century away from equaling Sachin Tendulkar’s nine ODI hundreds against Australia, are likely to open the batting. Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, and Hardik Pandya complete the rest of the batting lineup. 


Potential for Men-in-Blue 


Rishabh Pant’s potential long-term absence will mean Rahul is most likely to take over the wicketkeeping duties. Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan will be fighting for places in the playing 11.

All-rounder Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, and Yuzvendra Chahal will be the spin options. Meanwhile, the pace attack will consist of Mohammad Siraj, Mohammed Shami, Arshdeep Singh, and Umran Malik. After his improved performance in white-ball cricket last year, Siraj is likely to be the lead bowler in the squad.

India squad: (yet to be announced)

Potential for Aussies 


Australia is likely to field a strong squad for the three-match series. The opening batting pair David Warner and Travis Head were excellent in the ODIs against England. Both left-handed batters hit a hundred and a fifty each in the series.

Steve Smith is the player to watch out for in the series. The 33-year-old has scored 1123 runs at an average of 62.38 against India in ODIs. 

Injured hard-hitters Glenn Maxwell and Mitchell Marsh could feature in the ODIs. Also, Marcus Stoinis and Cameron Green could make it to the squad. Adam Zampa will lead the spin attack, with Ashton Agar also playing a crucial role. The pace trio of Mitchell Starc, captain Pat Cummins, and Josh Hazlewood have plenty of experience under their belt.

Australia squad: (yet to be announced)

India vs Australia ODI Series – Venues


Wankhede Stadium will host the series opener. Australia crushed India by ten wickets in the last ODI played at the venue. David Warner struck an unbeaten 128, and Mitchell Starc picked up three wickets.

The second ODI will be played at ACA-VDCA Stadium in Vishakapatnam. India has lost only one of the nine ODIs played at the venue.

The third and final ODI is at Chennai’s Chidambaram Stadium. India suffered a surprise eight-wicket defeat at the hands of West Indies the last time Chidambaram hosted a white-ball international fixture. Virat Kohli has scored a century and two fifties in seven outings at Chidambaram Stadium.

You may read predictions and updates on Yolo247 cricket blogs

India vs Australia ODI Series – Stats

Head-to-Head Record

Played: 143

India wins: 50

Australia wins: 83

No Results: 10

Last Five Meetings 

Dec 2, 2020: India won by 13 runs 

Nov 29, 2020: Australia won by 51 runs

Nov 27, 2020: Australia won by 66 runs

Jan 19, 2020: India won by 7 wickets

Jan 17, 2020: India won by 34 runs

A cricket feast awaits cricket fans during India vs Australia ODI series. Follow all the latest news and updates from the thrilling series. Start with Ind vs Aus Test series updates. 

You may read about IPL 2023 Punjab Kings teams

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *